Luna Blue's PlayaZone

By Tony & Cheri, Live from the Luna Blue in Playa del Carmen, Mexico

  • Subscribe

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Playa del Carmen Weather

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 692,870 hits
  • Pages

  • Networked Blogs

A Letter to Jimmy Buffett

Posted by Tony & Cheri on May 11, 2009

Here’s an e-mail we sent to one of our favorite Caribbean troubadors, Jimmy Buffett. If you are not familiar with Mr. Buffett’s music or books go to the store right now and buy some of his CDs. After you listen for a while you will find yourself looking at maps and planning vacations on a tropical beach!

Dear Jimmy,

We need your help. More specifically, Mexico needs your help.

As you probably know, Mexico’s economy has taken a pretty bad beating lately with the swine flu scare. Although the flu was concentrated several thousand miles away in Mexico City, the media blitz about how dangerous it was to travel to Mexico kept people away from all of Mexico including the beautiful Caribbean coast! As a result tourists are now simply too scared to visit us even though we never had a single case of flu here where we live in Playa Del Carmen.

In a way the lack of crowds has been kind of nice for us locals since we have had the beaches and bars to ourselves for a while. But it is starting to affect folk’s lives. People are getting laid off and businesses are worried about whether they can stay open until the tourists return. From hotels to bars, fishing boats, restaurants, dive shops and more…everybody is beginning to hurt.

We have been trying to think of something that would show travelers Jimmy Buffett, live at Jazz Fest, New Orleans 2008that it’s safe to come visit Mexico’s Mayan Riviera again. The solution we came up with is…YOU! We can talk ourselves blue in the face about how safe, and beautiful it is down here, but nobody will listen. However if JB says it’s ok to go then the tourists, and the parrotheads will return. We are sure of it.

So we would ask a favor of you…come to Mexico! A little week-end mini-tour of Caribe Mexico is just what is needed to let people know all is fine south of the border. You could do a show at your own Margaritaville Café in Cancun, and another in the Margaritaville on Cozumel. And since you don’t have a café in Playa Del Carmen, we would like to offer you use of our own little Luna Blue Bar for a show. It’s small, but it’s your kind of funky tropical place with palm thatched roof, swings instead of stools around the bar, and Radio Margaritaville playing on the satellite radio.

While we can’t pay your regular appearance fee, we can offer you a free room at our Luna Blue Hotel next to the bar. And we will pass the tip jar for you when you play. We’ll even throw in free drinks for you and the band.

Please think about it. You could help some people out and get some time under Mexico’s tropical sun. And of course…you do owe us. After all, it was your books and music that inspired us to run away to the tropics in the first place. As we always say when folks ask how we ended up running a hotel and bar in the Caribbean…”Blame it on Buffett.”

There are people who need help down in the Caribbean and we ask…”What would Jimmy Buffett do?”

Best regards,

Tony & Cheri Head, Owners
Luna Blue Hotel & Bar

Of course Jimmy Buffett is a big honkin’ superstar and probably won’t have the time to run down to Mexico in the middle of his summer tour. But we figured it never hurts to ask. And if you would like to encourage Mr. Buffett to consider a little trip to paradise just drop him a note at info@margaritaville.com. Tell him: “Jimmy…Mexico needs you!” and include a link to this blog. Who knows what could happen? :)

Visit our new Facebook page and become a fan of Luna Blue Hotel & Bar!

20 Responses to “A Letter to Jimmy Buffett”

  1. Hey, Like I always say “If you don’t ask, you don’t get!”. Come on Jimmy! Help us out!!

  2. Rebecca Hecker said

    I LOVE IT! I will be sending a note to the email address to voice my support in your crusade! What a great idea!!!

  3. Tim & Ruth said

    Inspired Idea~!

    Email(s) sent….

    Much Love

  4. PlayaLove said

    Email on its way,,,,,ask and ye shall receive….seek and ye shall find.

  5. Tom and Lynn Beggs said

    Good job Tony and Cheri. Below is my letter to Mr. Buffet.

    Dear Jimmy,

    I am writing from St. Joseph, MO. begging and pleading you to please come to Playa del Carmen. If you decide to go would you please e-mail me the dates so we can catch a flight out of Kansas City and be there for the show. I will even chip in for the drinks for you and the band.

    The Luna Blue plays your music all the time and also grills cheeseburgers in your honor every Friday and Saturday night ( I think ).

    So please help out Mexico and especially it’s Caribbean Coast. Hope to see you at the Luna Blue. I’ll even wear my Ricky Ricardo jacket.

    Kind regards,
    Tom and Lynn Beggs

  6. Jennifer said

    Great idea- while you’re at it how about a note to Kenny Chesney as well? Mexico is a continuous theme in his music as well. I hope one of them coems during my vacay June 24- July 7th in beautiful PDC!

    Cheers!

  7. I just love good ideas!! If I were Jimmy Buffet, and I got that email, I would sooo be there in a mexican minute! He could call it the “Swine not?” Tour (sorry, title of one of his books, little stab at humour) Alas, I’m just me, and I can’t come til October anyway
    ;(
    Hang in there guys! Wishing and praying for you all to have a rocking summer!
    Kim P.
    “I’m not afraid of storms, for I’m learning to sail my ship.” (Louisa May Alcott)

  8. Pat said

    If Jimmy Buffett plays the Luna Blue, I will drop all plans (including work) and book a flight the day it’s announced.

    Where exactly did you send this letter? I will send an email to Radio Maragitaville. If someone can steer me in the right direction I will plead for his help as well.

  9. Jay and Kath said

    I am going to see Jimmy in New Jersey on June 20th. If I get a chance I will pass the word on personally to him. Hell he can share our room. I am sure he would love Kath and Cheri
    Peace!!
    We will see you at the end of July, no matter what

  10. Jen said

    GREAT IDEA! I’m daydreaming that he’ll show up on our long weekend in PDC over Memorial Day – regardless, we will see you then!

  11. I hope he writes you back!!

  12. Pat said

    Jay and Kath, we’ll be at the same show in Camden. So we can be there to support you when you talk to Jimmy. Let me know where you’re meeting up with him. haha

    Are you also going to AC to see him in August?

  13. Barry said

    OK, I sent a threatening letter that I’d burn my “backstage pass” if he didn’t show at the “The Blue” and dropped a few names from Anguilla, ya never know! I’d just shit!

  14. Gimli201 said

    What a great idea! Hope he visits soon! At least the 40+ crowd already knows who he is and his music. Why do I have this insane feeling that this might actually pan-out and your next blog addition may be “JB at the LB”? Just a hunch and a kind of catchy title! :) Hope all is well down there given the economy coupled with the gross abuse of ignorant but intensely persuasive media! We hope everyone stays open – especially our “favs” like Jave Joe’s. I wish we could do an anti-marketing campaign for Starbucks. Ha! We hope to see you guys soon.
    Hugs from ChiTown!

  15. Gimli201 said

    What a great idea! Hope he visits soon! At least the 40+ crowd already knows who he is and his music. Why do I have this insane feeling that this might actually pan-out and your next blog addition may be “JB at the LB”? Just a hunch and a kind of catchy title! :) Hope all is well down there given the economy coupled with the gross abuse of ignorant but intensely persuasive media! We hope everyone stays open – especially our “favs” like Java Joe’s. I wish we could do an anti-marketing campaign for Starbucks. Ha! We hope to see you guys soon.
    Hugs from ChiTown!

  16. melliedee said

    Cool! I hope he responds!!

  17. Barb said

    Great idea! As a parrothead and Playa fan, what more could I ask for?

  18. Louise said

    C’mon Mr. Buffet. (nudge, nudge) Luna Blue is giving you a free room. :) How can you refuse this offer, Jimmy. :) Tony & Cheri are the nicest folks you will ever want to meet. They own the sweetest little hotel in Playa del Carmen.
    And they love you!! They promote you, all the time!! :) They feature your live concerts, via satellite, and offer 2X1 Margaritas. Plus, Tony grills ‘Cheeseburgers in Paradise’ in your honor…all for charity. :) You would be so proud! And you would fall in love with T & C. :) :). I just know it.

    We love you, Mr. Buffett!

    P.S. Reading ‘A Salty Piece of Land’, right now. :)

    Come to The Luna Blue Hotel, Jimmy.
    Mayan Riviera, Playa del Carmen. We are waiting for you, with open arms. :)

  19. Andrew said

    great idea email sent

  20. jaxsonq said

    Once I had the balls to call Jimmy Buffett at home (yes I had the number), and during the conversation, I told him he was welcome to hang around my pool since he was in Irvine for a couple of concerts. He kindly declined.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 683 other followers

