Tony & Cheri's PlayaZone

Adventures in Playa del Carmen, Mexico

  • Subscribe

  • Top Posts & Pages

  • Playa del Carmen Weather

  • Categories

  • Archives

  • Blog Stats

    • 823,404 hits
  • Pages

  • Networked Blogs

Rest in Peace, Sweet Huggybear

Posted by Tony & Cheri on September 15, 2008

Our beloved HuggybearWe are heartbroken. This morning we received a call from our housesitters (we’re visiting in San Francisco at the moment) that our English bulldog Huggybear died in his sleep last night. We got him as a puppy on Superbowl Sunday 11 years ago. He was a gentle, sweet, wonderful dog who gave us years of unconditional love. He liked everyone, but his heart belonged to Cheri, and until the last year or so when it got harder and harder for him to move around, he would follow her from room to room, no matter how tired he was.

Unlike the other pets we have lost, we didn’t have time to prepare ourselves for his death or even to say goodbye. We are glad for him that he passed peacefully in his sleep and didn’t have to suffer any protracted illness, but we are incredibly sad for us.

Huggy’s ashes will be buried in our backyard alongside Belle and Carib. His passing will leave a huge hole in our life.

15 Responses to “Rest in Peace, Sweet Huggybear”

  1. Kevin and Penny Demarell said

    Sorry for your loss. Whats not to love…we are sure he brought many wonderful moments into your life!!

    Kevin and Penny

  2. Louise said

    Oh no! I am still in shock and so terribly sad for both of you. Gosh, not Huggybear. I am so sorry Tony & Cheri. I feel sad also because it happened while you were away. Try not to be too upset…I know it’s difficult because you are not in Playa, but try to enjoy your time is S.F. as best as you are able to.

    I am so sorry guys. šŸ˜¦

    Sending a big hug your way.

  3. Kim P said

    Our pets are our babies, it’s so hard to lose them. He looks and sounds like he was wonderful, my sincerest condolences.

  4. Adam said

    Oh my god, I am so sorry to hear that. I know how much Huggybear means to you guys. How sad.

  5. SarahB said

    Oh no!! I’m in tears. I love Huggybear! I am so sorry, I know you are both so sad. Glad he gave me kisses just a couple of weeks ago. On On a less serious note, looking at this picture, I’m not sure why it never occurred to me to paint his long, pretty nails! I should’ve done that while I was pet sitting…we could’ve surprised you! šŸ˜‰ Love you guys!

  6. PlayaLove said

    I am so sorry for your loss hope this poem helps ease the pain.
    Weep Not for Me
    Weep not for me though I am gone
    Into that gentle night.
    Grieve if you will,but not for long,
    Upon my soul’s sweet flight.
    I am at peace,my soul’s at rest,
    There is no need for tears:
    For with your love I was so blessed
    For all those many years.
    There is no pain,I suffer not:
    The fear now all is gone.
    Put now these things out of your thoughts,
    In your memory I live on.
    Remember not my fight for breath,
    Remember not the strife.
    Please do not dwell upon my death,
    But celebrate my life.
    By Constance Jenkins All my best Brenda AKA PlayaLove

  7. Becky Hernandez said

    Oh, we are so so sad for you but at the same time we are sure you had 11 very happy years with your bully and many happy memories to keep forever. We’ve never had the pleasure to meet you two or your doggie, but having a couple of bullies of our own, we know the love and bonding they can give to their owners is very, very special.
    Rest in peace, little one.

    The Hernandez Family, “Spike” and “Pote”

  8. Sharon/Queencityfan said

    Tony & Cheri,

    I was so sorry to read this, thankfully he did not suffer and you will always have many good memories of time spent together.

    Sharon

  9. Donny said

    My Condolences on your loss.
    We lost our kitty Sneakers last June after 21 years. She was part of the family. I also lost my closest brother in June after 52 years. They are both missed but often remembered and always with a smile. I look not to hide from their passing, but to talk about them as often as possible and not to be annoying. I’m sure you both have a lot of memories of Huggybear that will make you smile for many years to come.

    dr

  10. Monica & Michael said

    Pets truly are a part of your family. We are so sorry to hear this news. Sending big hugs to both of you. Always smile when you think of Huggybear. He was a special dog!

  11. Paul S in SF said

    Sorry to hear of your loss. I have an old guy that’s slowing down at 14 years old. They don’t ever live long enough !!

  12. Tim and Ruth said

    We’re SO sorry to hear this sad news. Huggy was such a special guy. I always looked forward to seeing him….
    All our BEST thoughts.

    XOXOXO

  13. We are so sorry to hear about your loss. I will miss seeing Cheri and Huggy walking in the mornings when I drop Cole off at school. Too sad…..

  14. Maureen Murphy said

    Oh Tony & Cheri,

    I am so terribly sorry! This is just heart breaking! Your tribute to Huggybear is beautiful! I will make a donation tonight in sweet Huggybear’s name to the Peanut Animal Shelter! You two have been so generous & supportive to the Shelter, I can’t think of anything more fitting.

    I am so, so very sorry!!!!

    Maureen

    Love, Maureen

  15. John said

    Tony & Cheri-

    I’m so sorry to hear about Huggybear! Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

 
